Inspector Steine

Inspector Steine (Dramatised)

Narrated by: Michael Fenton Stevens, Jan Ravens

Published March 2008

Available at all good bookshops including:

Share on

The first series of Lynne Truss’s hugely popular BBC Radio 4 comedy thriller set in 1950s Brighton. A place of knickerbocker glories, end-of-the pier shows… and an enormous amount of unsolved crime.

Step forward Inspector Steine. Naive and innocent, he believes that he wiped out all the villains at a single stroke in the Middle Street Massacre when seventeen local hoodlums gunned each other to death. Fortunately, long-suffering Sergeant Brunswick is at hand to help Steine with his enquiries. Aided by keen Constable Twitten, they must find the criminal mastermind who is operating undetected in their midst.

In these six episodes, a headless corpse is found on the Palace Pier ghost train; a foppish London theatre critic is found dead after a performance of a kitchen-sink drama; and the Inspector decides to go undercover at the Black Cat Casino – while a robbery takes place in the bank next door to the police station. In addition, Ventriloquist Vince receives threats after moving his booth to a new pitch; Steine falls in love with Adelaide Vine, the beautiful owner of a fish and chip shop; and ponders how to celebrate the five-year anniversary of the Middle Street Massacre: unaware that a deranged criminal has escaped from Broadmoor with revenge on his lips…

Starring Michael Fenton Stevens as Steine and Jan Ravens as Mrs Groynes, this perfectly-judged blend of humour, nostalgia and mystery from bestselling author Lynne Truss makes for an irresistible listen.

©2008 BBC Audiobooks Ltd (P)2010 BBC Audiobooks Ltd

Life At Absolute Zero

Published October 2021 Audio Books & Radio

Psycho By The Sea – Audiobook

Published June 2021 Audio Books & Radio
The Return of Inspector Steine

The Return of Inspector Steine

Published July 2013 Audio Books & Radio
The Adventures of Inspector Steine

The Adventures of Inspector Steine, Third Series

Published April 2010 Audio Books & Radio
The Casebook of Inspector Steine

The Casebook of Inspector Steine (Dramatised)

Published January 2009 Audio Books & Radio
A Certain Age - Six classic men's monologues

A Certain Age, Vol. 2: Male Monologues

Published February 2007 Audio Books & Radio
A Certain Age - Six classic women's monologues

A Certain Age, Vol. 1: Female Monologues

Published January 2005 Audio Books & Radio
Cutting a Dash (Eats, Shoots & Leaves)

Cutting a Dash (Eats, Shoots & Leaves)

Published April 2004 Audio Books & Radio

See All Books